Penn State Harrisburg's Kiara Carter Honored As Second-Team All Conference Pick

Penn State Harrisburg's Kiara Carter Honored As Second-Team All Conference Pick

Middletown, Pa.- Penn State Harrisburg Senior center Kiara Carter was honored as a second –team all conference pick for her hard work and play throughout the 2015-2016 women's basketball season.

Carter finished the season with an average of 10 rebounds per game while also leading the team with an average of 9.4 points per game. Carter is currently Penn State Harrisburg's all time leader for rebounds with a total of 837 throughout her career as a Lady Lion. She played in nearly every game this year and helped the Lions finish the season 10-15 overall. Carter's recognition is the first all-conference honor for the women's basketball team since they joined the Capital Athletic Conference in 2013-2014. 

Salisbury's Julia McLaughlin Named CAC Women's Basketball Player of the Year

YORK, Pa. - Salisbury senior forward Julia McLaughlin was honored as the 2016 CAC Women's Bas- ketball Player of the Year to headline this year's all-star selections. McLaughlin is the second straight and fourth overall Sea Gull to win the Women's Basketball Player of the Year award.

McLaughlin joins former teammate Anna Hackett (2015), Lisa Neylan (2000) and Amy Campion (2002- 03) in the elite club of Salisbury players to receive Player of the Year recogntion. A second-team All-CAC pick in 2015 and the Rookie of the Year in 2013, this is McLaughlin's first time as a first-team all-star.

Marymount's Ashlee Rogers, who led the Saints to the conference regular season title, was honored by her peers as the "Bill Finney" CAC Coach of the Year. The honor is the second of Rogers' career, with the other coming in the 2012-13 campaign. The award was named in honor of Bill Finney, who was the coach and ath- letic director during Rogers' playing career at Marymount. Finney won the CAC Coach of the Year Award five times during his career.

Mary Washington freshman guard Elizabeth Dofflemyer, selected as the 2016 Rookie of the Year, was the only first-year player to be honored by the CAC coaches. Dofflemyer is the fourth UMW standout to earn Rookie of the Year honors along with Debbie Bruen in 2004, Katie Wimmer in 2009 and Carol Dye in 2010.

Eight of the 10 CAC teams were represented on the 2016 All-CAC Women's Basketball Team. Christo- pher Newport led the way with three honorees while Mary Washington, Marymount and St. Mary's each landed two players on the squad. Salisbury, Penn State Harrisburg, Wesley and York each had one player earn all-star accolades.

Marymount was the only team to place multiple players on the All-CAC first team, with senior guard Kievanna Lacey and sophomore forward Nicole Viscuso each receiving top honors. Lacey is one of two repeat first-teamers, while Viscuso is a first-time All-CAC honoree.

Mary Washington junior center Brianne Comden, who helped lead the Eagles to the CAC post-season crown, is the other repeat first-team selection on this year's all-star squad. UMW senior guard Megan Green was the other Eagle to earn All-CAC accolades, landing on the second team for the first time in her career.

York junior forward Sam Hruz secured first-team honors after being a second-team selection last sea- son, while Christopher Newport sophomore forward Sam Porter was also on the first team. Joining Porter on the all-star team for CNU were sophomore forward Devon Byrd and sophomore guard Makenzie Fancher - both first-time CAC all-stars.

Wesley junior guard/forward Brionna Johnson landed on the second team for the third All-CAC honor of her career. Johnson was first-team pick in 2015, and a second-teamer and the Rookie of the Year in 2014.

St. Mary's junior center Nina Haller received her second straight all-conference second-team award, while teammate and sophomore guard Kerri Kline made her way onto the all-star team for the first time after claiming Rookie of the Year accolades last winter.

Penn State Harrisburg senior center Kiara Carter earned second-team recognition, which marks the first all-conference honor for the Lions since they joined the CAC in 2013-14.